Friday, April 20, 2012

Reset Shared Coordinates

There isn't an easy button to just eliminate shared coordinates in a project. You can move the Survey Point back to the same spot as the Project Base Point and then use Specify Coordinates at Point to reset the coordinates the file is using. Sounds like I just countered my first statement?

I'm referring to the relationship between files when you use Acquire Coordinates or Publish Coordinates. Once two files are sharing coordinates you can't really remove this relationship. If you remove the link and import it again (Auto - Origin to Origin) the relationship survives. For example you can try to Acquire Coordinates from the file again to "reset" them and Revit will say that it is already sharing coordinates with the file.

To remove (really more like replace) the relationship I use a new (empty) file that is based on the stock Revit template default.rte. I import this file and Acquire Coordinates from it instead. Revit can only acquire coordinates from one source file so using a different file resets it to match this new file. Now it is possible to acquire them from the original file after removing the C/M relationship.

6 comments:

Bol said...

Steve, which version are you using? Autodesk "fixed" one source aquisition and the solution you descibe stopped working in the 2012 version.

Steve said...

I'm certain I've been able to do this with 2012, not sure I've tested it in 2013. I see no reason why it shouldn't continue to work. The Acquire Coordinates tool doesn't discriminate against a file unless it is already sharing coordinates with it.

Dave said...

Mostly related:
You'd think it would be useful to be able to compare the Survey Point in a Link to the Survey Point in the parent model, no?
That would be very useful if you're trying to line up a Link hat has gone astray. Sounds simple: Turn on both Survey Points, and move the Link from one to the other.
But no!
You can't turn on the Visibility of either Survey or Project Base Point in a Link.
I've been asking for that ever since they exposed the Survey Point, but it hasn't happened yet.

Dave Baldacchino said...

Not sure whether this is new in 2013, but when you move a link that you acquired coordinates from, when saving the host file (if you did not previously save the shared coordinates back to the link), Revit prompts you to save the updated shared coordinates to it, or not save, or disable shared positioning. The latter should do the trick, although it seems that you have to save, exit and re-open the host project in order for the link to properly report the parameter "Shared Site" as after doing so.

Anonymous said...

I have an easy way to remove the shared coordinates... Open file "detach from central" next "Detach and discard worksets" then save the project as a template, next go to "R" and new file from template, select the template you just created from the project, then save as with project name... All links are still linked but the shared coordinates are now gone. You lose the worksets and will have to recreate them (give and take), but this is how I manage to remove shared coordinates and it works

Alan C.

Anonymous said...

To remove shared coordinates, open file "detach from central" "detach and dicard worksets" save file as a template, open an new file using this template created from the project then save the file back as the project, all links remain but the shared coordinate is removed, you also loose the workset, not the element assigned to the workset. So it is give and take. But shared coordinates can be removed this way.

Alan C.