Showing posts with label Detach from Central. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Detach from Central. Show all posts

Monday, February 22, 2016

Detach from Central and the Specify Worksets Option

When we use Detach from Central (DfC) this message may pop up from time to time.


It can be a confusing to see it because quite often the very notion of using DfC is to deal with the fact that the Central File has been moved or copied, like when a consultant sends us a copy of their project file. We use DfC to create our own copy of their project on our server and project folder.

My initial reaction to it is, "Yeah...duh...why do you think I'm using DfC Revit?" Well to be fair, the reason the message appears is that the Central File was saved using the Save As > Options... Open Workset default: Specify (see next image). Revit is attempting to open that dialog before actually beginning the DfC process (technically).


Taking advantage of this concept means that we don't have to remember to choose Specify Worksets when we open a project, it is the default choice.


This is one instance where cavalierly clicking Close, thinking yeah whatever...is okay.

Thursday, November 05, 2015

Revit 2016 R2 - Detach from Central Filename

When you use the Detach from Central option Revit will append the word _detached to the filename if you decide to save the file.


You'll also find that the Titlebar shows the original file name with _detached appended to it instead of the blank description it displayed in the past.


How's that for subtle? Thanks to Jean-Marc for the push to post this.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Detach from Central versus Save As - Make this a Central Model after Save

Both techniques allow us to create a new central file from an existing file that has enabled worksets already.

Save As - Make this a Central Model after Save - respects the Edited By information the project has stored. This means if other users have borrowed elements then you'll find those users among the Owner/Borrower column in the Worksets dialog after creating your new central file.


This distinction means it may be possible (though unlikley) to allow users to synchronize their work with the new central file. They'd have to use the Browse button in the Synchronize with Central dialog to point Revit to the new location of the central. I used italics on may be possible because there are so many variables that could prevent it from succeeding that I don't want to provide false hope. If people have not continued to alter or create new elements in their own local files, while this new central file is created, then it may be possible, worth attempting perhaps if you are in some sort of recovery mode.

Detach from Central - completely severs the relationship the file had with the file it came from (usually a central file) and any local files that may exist, as well as ALL ownership information (stored in Edited by parameter). It is a fresh start, utterly.

Btw, this post was prompted by a question at RFO this afternoon. It became evident that this subtlety is something I've not written about, I thought I had.

Monday, March 24, 2014

Revit Worksets Error - Element has been Deleted

David Baldacchino shared an issue with me that he's run into recently.

Here's how he described the issue.

As a standard, we create our central files with the option "Specify" so users are prompted to pick which workset to open/close when creating a local file. If a user is in a local RVT 2013 file AND THEN another user tries to open a detached copy in Revit 2014 to upgrade it (whether doing this directly from the central file or a local file), the Revit 2013 user/s will start getting errors stating that elements were deleted from the central file when they try to edit. They are also locked out of touching anything until the upgrade process finishes. This issue does not happen if the Specify option is not used. This behavior is not expected and undesirable.

Sounds like it can be avoided, if the file needs to be upgraded, by keeping people out of the active project file. I'm not sure I'd want someone to upgrade a project that someone is actively adding new work to with the previous release. Regardless if it occurs it explains why the error message Elements have been deleted appears.